Archive for March 27, 2008

Pink Book Buzz

Posted in book covers, color on March 27, 2008 by Jacket Whys

Pinkalicious Pink

Here are a couple of books for little girls about little girls who love pink – Pinkalicious by Elizabeth Kann and Pink by Nan Gregory…
I am a faithful reader of Roger Sutton’s blog (and all the interesting conversation sparked there). A couple of days ago, he wrote a post called “Code Pink.” Roger asks “Do girls who like this sort of thing appreciate the code, or do they roll their eyes and read despite it?” Then Lisa Chellman posted “Perpetuating Pink,” expressing her concern “As a librarian, I’m concerned by the color pink… What about books that are not as pink on the outside as they are on the inside?”
And I posted about pink books on Valentine’s Day. Yeah, pink is for that love stuff (eye roll).
Out of curiosity, I did a Google search on “pink book covers” and found lots of interesting stuff.
None of the above posts identified pink books with gay and lesbian books – and yet the term is often applied to them. Here’s a website called “Pinkbooks” which lists LGBTQ books for teens. And I guess I’ll have to start paying attention, because apparently diet books tend to be pink. Probably because women are the most obsessive dieters and we know how pink attracts women? Chicklit is pink too – it was often mentioned in book reviews (too many to link but here’s an example). Pink is really popular for “Bible covers.”
There were quotes from authors about the use of pink on their books, like this one from The New York Observer: ““I didn’t want any pink on the back of my book… I didn’t want pink on my book—not because of what other people would think, or how it would be judged or marketed: I didn’t want pink because I wouldn’t buy a book that was pink. That’s why I haven’t read any of the pink books….”
Watch out, if you read too many pink books, you just might turn pink.

Finally, here’s the real problem with pink books – “How judging a book by its ‘girlie’ cover is putting boys off reading” from the UK’s TimesOnline. Why do they keep doing this? Are publishers afraid that girls won’t know it’s for them if it isn’t pink or what?

[UPDATE: Found another post about pink books: Is Pink Really Evil?]

Pinkalicious: A little girl who is obsessed with the color pink eats so many pink cupcakes that she herself turns pink.
Pink: Vivi loves the color pink. She is working and saving her money in order to buy a pink doll from the store. How does she feel when the doll is sold to someone else?