The Soon-to-be Lost Art of Book Covers?

A coworker sent me this interesting article by James Bridle today. Food for thought…
In the comments: “While the idiom of ‘don’t judge a book by its cover’ retains its truth, consumers nonetheless appear to be buying books mostly with their eyes.”
I like that image. Buying books with your eyes. What happens if we can’t do that anymore??

3 Responses to “The Soon-to-be Lost Art of Book Covers?”

  1. I think covers are very important. They are a sort of shorthand that tells you what type of book that might be. The browse by cover option is one of my favorite features on my NOOK. If I didn’t make some sort of judgement call based on the image, I’d spend all my allotted reading time, just reading the overviews until I found something I liked. I know that for me covers are very instrumental in getting me to pick up a book I’ve never heard of. Now, that said, I am most certainly going to read the flap and maybe a page or two before I buy it. It would be a terrible shame if cover design when away or this trend of generic clip art images I’ve been seeing becomes the norm.

  2. Pretty! This was аn increԁibly wonderful post. Many thanks for suρplying this info.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.