Do You Design YA Book Covers?

And do you blog? I have a request (a challenge?). Here it is: Do one blog post like Ian Shimkoviak’s, where you show us several different ideas you had for a book cover – and which one was chosen for final production. Some narrative would be a bonus. Shimkoviak seems to do lots of finished looking covers for a book – all different ideas. It’s fun to see the different interpretations, but he rarely adds any explanation.
If you don’t blog, and don’t mind sharing – send them to me – I’ll be happy to post them!
I’ve always wanted to do interviews of cover designers on this blog. But there’s a problem. I want real stories… things like what outrageous requests designers have had to comply with. But I don’t want anyone to jeopardize their job.
But if anyone wants to include and anonymous story here, now would be the time. We’d love to hear about it in the comments. Thanks!

UPDATE: Adding links to posts that are sent to me, or I find… Lucky Breaks – Erin McGuire ; Brain Camp – Colleen Venable ; The Strange Case of Origami Yoda – Chad Beckerman ; Attack of the Fluffy Bunnies – Chad Beckerman ;

2 Responses to “Do You Design YA Book Covers?”

  1. http://emcguire.blogspot.com/2010/05/lucky-breaks.html
    I posted some of my progress on my newest cover here, but only a bit of narrative.

  2. I’m a designer at Flux and do freelance cover design on the side. I don’t blog but would be willing to send you some covers and alts with back story. I just designed The Iron Witch by Karen Mahoney (http://thebooksmugglers.com/2010/06/a-smugglerific-cover-the-iron-witch-by-karen-mahoney.html) if you’d like that one, or take a look on my website to see if you’d rather hear about any of those covers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.