Raised by Wolves, Looks Like Chicklit

Okay, so does every book have to look the same now? Even this book, Raised by Wolves by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Egmont, June 2010) has chicklit written all over it.
Despite my aversion, it looks like I’m in the minority. Around the blogiverse I found lots of cover-love (here, and here, and my friend at YABooknerd rates it pretty highly as well).

Browsing through other werewolf books for teens, I see that this is standard werewolf cover fare. For my money, I’d rather see something werewolf-y on the cover of a book like this. But maybe that would mean it’s written for boys…?
It’s definitely not the designer that irks me – I like all of the other Sammy Yuen covers shown here!

Raised by Wolves: A girl raised by werewolves must face the horrors of her past to uncover the dark secrets that the pack has worked so hard to hide. Ages 12+. Reviews 1, 2, 3, 4.

9 Responses to “Raised by Wolves, Looks Like Chicklit”

  1. What if the girl was removed from the cover and we just went with the misty forest and the full moon? Won’t that make it more haunting?

    • Jacket Whys Says:

      Yes! I, for one, would much rather see it. Atmosphere is good. It sets the scene, but doesn’t give too much information that can be later proved wrong, or set in stone the visual parameters of the story.
      If you look at this cover, and then read the book (I haven’t) you either take this picture with you on your travels through the story, OR you can be irritated at the mismatch of cover image with your own vision of the character.
      AND I always wonder why beautiful girls are used to attract girls. It obviously works – if the fact it’s done so frequently in all of our visual media is an indication. I know women that are attracted to this. But why seeing women/girls that have attained those attributes helps us in the expression of our inner wishes to be as beautiful and thin as the images we see helps… is a mystery to me.

  2. Kate’s suggestion describes the cover of Shiver, a book that has been quite popular (also about werewolves), and I think the cover is lovely, very striking. None of Maggie Stiefvater’s books have photos of teens on the covers: http://www.maggiestiefvater.com/novels.php

    I was very sad at the bookstore to see that the beautiful, beautiful cover of If I Stay by Gayle Forman (one of my favorite new YA books last year) was replaced in paperback by a more generic and unappealing to me photo cover. Here’s a post from the author featuring the various international covers: http://www.gayleforman.com/blog/2010/03/09/choose-your-flavor/ I think the US PB is actually my least favorite. But of course I’m delighted the book is available in PB, and around the world.

    • Jacket Whys Says:

      Yes, I really enjoy Maggie’s book jackets!
      And thanks for the link to the Gayle Forman post. I think she nails it when she says of the original cover “it gets to the soul of the book without telling you a thing.” I love that.
      Interesting to be able to compare all of these book jackets. The US paperback reminds me of “Newes From the Dead” by Mary Hooper. The main character of that book is presumed dead, but is depicted on the cover with her eyes open, and the picture looks like a regular picture turned sideways (I posted about it here: http://jacketwhys.wordpress.com/2008/06/21/dead-or-alive/ ). That’s what this looks like (I haven’t read this yet).
      I had passed over “If I Stay” till now, but I’m moving it up the list :-)

  3. Wow. I checked out the link to his other cover and you aren’t kidding! I loved so many of the other ones he did. Leviathan, Incarceron, the Holly Black ones… wow. I didn’t know they were all the same artist!
    This one doesn’t bother me a lot, but I think I’ve kind of become numb to a lot of the werewolf/vampire/fallen angel covers…they tend to blend!

  4. I really REALLY don’t like covers that feature photos of people. Especially the close-up face ones…BORING!! They are the LAST books I will pick up in the store as they do not catch my eye at all. This would have been so much better without the girl on the cover.

  5. I agree, this cover looks like the 11 billionth Twilight rip off. Dark moody lighting, angst!ridden teen girl with sultry face… on one hand, it’s like a bullseye for people who have read the other 10,999,999,999 books out there that look like this. On the other, it repulses/bores just about everyone else.

  6. I was wondering how you define Chicklit. Are you using the term to refer to all fiction that’s marketed to women and girls? For some reason, I never think of the paranormals as Chicklit, even the plethora of paranormal romances with the girly covers. Does a cover mark something as chick lit regardless of the content?

    I know that you regard it as a problem that publishers try to market everything to girls (Paper Towns, anyone?), and I tend to agree that it’s tiresome and unfair to male readers and potential readers. One of our students chose Hunger Games as his SSR book, and came running back to the library in a couple of days begging for Catching Fire because HG was the first book he ever liked. It was so exciting and he was the first of many. Probably wouldn’t have even chosen the book if it had a picture of Katniss on the cover.

    But I digress…. When I see a cartoony cover heavy on shopping bags, shoes, and shades of pink, I think chick lit. Soft focus, pastels, or pathetic looking pretty people: chick lit. I think Crusie and Picoult, Dessen and Rennison, not Meyer & co. Maybe, it’s because I can imagine boys willingly reading about werewolves and vampires, but not shopping, romance and certain kinds of domestic tragedies. I guess I don’t really like the term chick lit and the stereotypes it implies, but ironically I use the term and use it mostly for stuff I don’t read. So I guess I’d like to know how other people use it

  7. When I think of chick lit covers, I think of cartoon covers, with lipstick (or otherwise overtly “girly”) details. This one dosn’t say chick lit to me at all. it says YA urban fantasy. And having read the book (though I read it with the ARC cover), I can tell you that’s what it is. Not the least bit chick lit-y. It’s gritty, and fast-paced, and very pro-powerful-woman. In the actual power sense, not the high heels and good haircut sense.

    I hope the cover aversion doesn’t keep you from reading it. Oddly enough, I tend to shy away from the ones you seem to like. I like seeing people on covers. That makes the book seem more accessible to me. Like it could really be me in the story. ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.