Archive for March 29, 2010

Spot the Photo

Posted in book covers, book designers, double dips, stock photos on March 29, 2010 by Jacket Whys

Way back when I was in school for graphic design, we learned to make many thumbnail potential designs for the client. In my real life, I’ve worked with professional graphic designers a couple of times, and have been surprised that we were not offered many choices (or the choices were all on the same basic idea). So what I just love about the blog Beyond the Covers: Work and Musings from Ian Shimkoviak of theBookDesigners is that we get to see many possible choices for a cover that the designer is working on. Covers posted are usually for adult books – and this is the set for a book called Emma and the Vampires. I’m posting it because there’s something very familiar here…. see if you can find it [big grin].