Hanging & Levitating: I Can Fly! Part 2

Here are more books where feet, legs, and sometimes more, hang from the top of the book. It’s not that I think any of these are unattractive – I like all of them well enough.
BUT when I really get to thinking about what’s going on here, I get kind of creeped out. Feet, hanging loosely down with shoes untied on The Thing About Georgie by Lisa Graff (Laura Geringer, 2006)… makes me wonder. Did a kid hang himself?
No, I don’t really think that’s what it is. Georgie is a dwarf and probably this is what his feet look like when he’s sitting in a chair? But there’s no chair in the background… it’s just creepy.
And Hope is working on buying purple hiking boots in Call Me Hope by Gretchen Olson (Little Brown 2007). I get that. But why is she sitting in the sky?
On The Anatomy of Wings by Karen Foxlee (Knopf, 2009), is this Jenny jumping straight-legged up into the sky? Or did she hang herself too?
Clearly though, Larry of Larry and the Meaning of Life by Janet Tashjian (Henry Holt, 2008) is just levitating. OR is it just a strange use of The Rule of Three?

Feet 1Feet 2

Feet 3Feet 4

Just one thing about title text here. The curved title of The Anatomy of Wings is interesting. But why? I’m not sure if it means something, or shapes something or…???

Thing About Georgie: Georgie’s dwarfism causes problems, but he could always rely on his parents, his best friend, and classmate Jeanie the Meanie’s teasing, until a surprising announcement, a new boy in school, and a class project shake things up. Ages 8-12. Reviews 1, 2, 3, 4.
Call Me Hope: In Oregon, eleven-year-old Hope begins coping with her mother’s verbal abuse by devising survival strategies for herself based on a history unit about the Holocaust, and meanwhile she works toward buying a pair of purple hiking boots by helping at a second-hand shop. Ages 12+. Reviews 1, 2, 3, 4.
Anatomy of Wings: After the suicide of her troubled teenage sister, eleven-year-old Jenny struggles to understand what actually happened. Ages 12+. Reviews 1, 2, 3, 4. Reading Group Guide.
Larry and the Meaning of Life: Larry (otherwise known as Josh) is in the doldrums, but after meeting a spiritual guru at Walden Pond who convinces him to join his study group, he starts to question his grasp of reality. Ages 12+. Reviews 1, 2, 3.

3 Responses to “Hanging & Levitating: I Can Fly! Part 2”

  1. I’m thinking that the curved font on ‘The Anatomy of Wings’ cover evokes the shape of a wing. It does seem to be in the wrong place anatomically, but still, seems like a wing shape to me. :)

  2. I was just going to comment exactly what kelsie did before me! Definitely evokes a wing-shape to me, but since it comes out of her calf, I don’t think it’s intentional.

    The feet on The Thing About Georgie def creep me out, too — looks like he’s hanging. Ick.

  3. hi :) oh my gods by tera lynn childs also has a hanging/levitating cover too :) hope i helped!
    <3, Bridget
    PS. i love your site!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.