See No Evil

I noticed a run of new face covers where the eyes are blocked out with a graphic (a strip of paper,  the illusion of a torn out section, a color block) which contains the title of the book. I’d collected three and I was watching, waiting to see if another one would come up.

This morning I read Elizabeth Bird’s Fuse #8 post pointing out the new covers for Julie Anne Peters Snob Squad books. I clicked on her link to Peters’ MySpace page and found a fourth. You may have noticed I like to have a nice block of four for my posts ;-)

This one’s a little older – King of the Lost and Found by John Lekich (Raincoast 2007). But the remaining three book jackets are new Band Geeked Out by Josie Bloss (Flux 2009), Looking for JJ by Anne Cassidy (Harcourt 2009, c2007) and A Snitch in the Snob Squad by Julie Anne Peters (Little Brown 2010, c2001)

king of the lostband geeked

looking for jsnitch in the snob squad

When you consider how many ways a close up photo can be manipulated to give a particular impression, this is surely one you’d think of.  And when you look at the other new Snob Squad covers, you see two more to watch for: Speak no evil and…. smell no evil?

UPDATE: For more similar to this see another blogger’s post – Obscuring Women’s Faces.

King of the Lost and Found: Ages 12+. Reviews 1, 2, 3.
Band Geeked Out: As her senior year of high school nears the end, marching band member Ellie finds herself doubting her plans for the future when she meets a fascinating and sophisticated girl while taking a tour of a college out of state. Ages 12+. Reviews 1.
Looking for JJ: Seventeen-year-old Alice, released from prison with a new identity after serving six years for murdering a child, tries to keep her anonymity from the British tabloids, while haunted by memories of her past trauma. Ages 12+. Reviews 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.
Snitch in the Snob Squad: Twelve-year-old Jenny and the other members of the Snob Squad suspect that one of them, or someone close to them, is behind the thefts at their school. Ages 8-12.

9 Responses to “See No Evil”

  1. Unfortunately, covers like this just don’t jump out along a big bookshelf. My eyes naturally scan over them for some reason.

  2. Curious. The eye-covering thing definitely evokes the black boxes they put over people’s faces in the media to protect their identity. So it makes a lot of sense to me for Looking for J.J. and A Snitch in the Snob Squad, where both the titles and fingers-to-lips compounds that message. It’s less clear to me off the bat why the other books would use that device — makes me wonder if the story backs up that choice.

    • I agree, Lisa. That’s always what I’m looking for (but can’t read enough to answer!)… does the cover choice match – or betray – the book?

  3. There’s also the cover of Wherever Nina Lies, although one eye is visible.

    • Oh, yes – I’d seen this one, but it didn’t click that it matched with these. You’re right though, it does!

  4. Hi- I’ve been lurking for a while now! I really enjoy your blog. I just had to comment because I can’t help thinking that the girl on the cover of “Looking for JJ” would look just like the girl from the cover of “Paper Towns” by John Green if she weren’t covered up. Maybe it’s the hair, haha.

  5. avisannschild Says:

    Hey, thanks for mentioning my similar post! I thought it was funny that you posted about these in the same week that I’d decided to write my post.

    I’ve also been lurking for a while and really enjoy your blog. I usually make sure to not mention lookalikes you’ve mentioned before but since in this case there was only one overlap, I figured it was OK!

  6. Don’t forget Wherever Nina Lies:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.