Your Favorites

I’ve been thinking about my best covers of 2008 post for a while now. Teacherninja‘s post to my last post, however, made me think I could ask the readers of this blog to share their favorites. I’d love to know which covers have caught your eyes. Comment away! And thanks, in advance, for your suggestions.

10 Responses to “Your Favorites”

  1. I like The Brothers Torres by Coert Voorhees (the cover is very effective and has teen appeal).

    A Curse Dark as Gold by Elizabeth Bunce: I liked the use of a photo to illustrate a non-contemporary book.

    I am still under the spell of Graceling, by Kristin Cashore, since I finished it yesterday, and I do think it’s a nice cover. Goodreads shows two covers, one of which I think is the British edition. I’m glad the American Harcourt edition has the sword cover; I like it better, and the Gollancz edition looks too much like Terrier by Tamora Pierce.

    My favorite new novel this year is White Sands, Red Menace by Ellen Klages, and I can’t look at the cover with any objectivity. I do like it.

  2. I just scrolled through your 2008 posts. One of my favourite covers is A Crooked Kind Of Perfect (Linda Urban) — and yes, socks are indeed in the story of this young musician! ;)

    I also love the Sovay covers. The US one is so striking, but I agree with you that it distances it from being historical fiction. So really the other cover is better!

    Another recent cover I like is “Bliss” by Lauren Myracle. The photo tells the setting, and the font gives it a great creepyness.

  3. This was fun to think about! I just wrote a post with some of my favorites, over at my blog.

  4. I loved the cover of Order of the Odd Fish by James Kennedy- It had a lot going on but it worked very well, and fit the novel perfectly

    Curse of Cuddle Mcgee by Emily Ecton I really like this cover because it did its job. It made me want to read the book and it reflects the main characters very well

    Ghostgirl by Tony Hurley- Just a very interesting cover design

    Though its an adult mystery I am adding Tethered by Amy Mackinnon. I loved this cover. For me it was stop me in my tracks good.

  5. I’m clearly biased, because I work for the publisher, but I really like what Janan Cain (author/illustrator/book designer) did with her cover for Roonie B. Moonie: Lost and Alone. Her use of color really stands out, with bright colors for the main character, and darker shades for the menacing background.

    I also really like the cover for Kadir Nelson’s We Are the Ship. I love how the cover is reminiscent of old-school baseball cards. It seems like the perfect design for a baseball book, and makes me wonder why I haven’t seen something like it before.

  6. I may SEEM a little biased (since I wrote it) but I had nothing to do with the awesome cover for The Way He Lived, my YA book out last month. The photo-booth style snapshots fit the story (told in “snapshots”) perfectly!

  7. Are you doing picture books as well? I dig the cover for Dinosaur Vs. Bedtime! but understand if you’re sticking with YA covers.

  8. Oooo, I just saw the cover for Skin Deep, by E.M. Crane. That’s gorgeous, too!

  9. I love the cover of Generation Dead by Daniel Waters.

    Also, Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer has a great cover. It keeps with the red-black-white theme that the other books have. And once the reader discovers the “meaning” it makes it all the better. (I was in the camp that loved the book)

  10. I adore the cover for Bird, by Rita Murphy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.