Icy

Here’s a New York Magazine article on book jackets with pictures of melting ice cream. I had taken note of a couple of popsicle covers a while back, and have held on waiting to see if I anything struck me about them… or if any more cropped up. This may be a trend in books for adults – but it’s just a flash in the youth market.
I’ve seen nothing like these in children’s/YA books this year. And these (Shug by Jenny Han – Simon & Schuster 2006, and Skinny by Ibi Kaslik – Walker 2006) are different from those discussed by Christopher Bonanos in that nothing’s melting here. No “sense of time”. Maybe a “sense of action”. These pops are frozen solid but someone’s bitten into them.
I’m thinking that says something interestingly metaphorical about youth vs. adulthood, but I’m having trouble framing it. Youth just take the plunge – take a bite out of life? Us old boomers wait until everything is melting and gloppy?
Could be.
Does it say something about kids books vs. adult books? Or is it just an accident of design?

Check out the paperback of Shug – seems like they’re going for a different market. The paperback of Skinny retained the same cover design.

Shug: A twelve-year-old girl learns about friendship, first loves, and self-worth in a small town in the South. Ages 10-14.
Skinny: After the death of their father, two sisters struggle with various issues, including their family history, personal relationships, and an extreme eating disorder. Ages 14+.

3 Responses to “Icy”

  1. The paperback cover of Shug immediately made me think of the paperback cover of Frances O’Roark Dowell’s The Secret Language of Girls. They’re not exactly the same but very similar…

    By the way, I love your blog. It really makes me think about book covers in a way I never did before :-)

  2. I love, love, love Shug. I hope you’ve read it. It captures that age so well.

  3. see, now it just makes me automatically think that both houses cheaped out on the same stock photos and didn’t buy exclusive rights, and then futzed with photoshop.

    that said, I read both of them as eating disorder books.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.