Someone Else on Double Dipping

Well, I have to admit, I thought I was the first one to point out the whole double dipping thing. But I found a blog – The Rap Sheet – that pointed it out far sooner and took it further than I did. The first post, dated in 2006 – When Covers Are Two of a Kind – includes 8 pairs, analyzed for the different techniques used to make the same photo appear slightly different on two different jackets. Follow up posts with more examples appeared on the blog in March of this year in Repeat Offenders and Double Exposure.
I guess this occurs seldom on YA covers compared to books from the mainstream market. Or maybe there are just so many more covers to design….
On another note, I bring your attention to the new jackets on Chad Beckerman’s blog.

2 Responses to “Someone Else on Double Dipping”

  1. I was surprised by another double dip when I saw Reincarnation by Suzanne Weyn on display in the library. I had already seen, and admired, the new cover on freshly reprinted Come in from the Cold by Marsha Qualey.

  2. Check out the jackets Laurie mentioned – Come in from the Cold by Marsha Qualey (the paperback edition Graphia 2008, c1994) and Reincarnation by Suzanne Weyn (Scholastic 2008).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.