The Importance of Color & Paper

I was at my local library today and picked up some of the books I have talked about on this blog. It made me think about the importance of seeing the actual book – 3D. When you get your hands on the real object, you can find that papers, techniques, and colors may be far different than their 2-D representation.
Most of my comments are made based on cover scans. With that in mind, I want to add some comments about books I have talked about on this blog.
In “Defying Gravity,” I mentioned Kelly Easton’s book, White Magic (jacket illustration and design by Dustin Summers/Heads of State). I’ve got the book on my desk as I write. It’s still not a cover I think would attract teens. But the colors aren’t nearly as irritating on the 3-D book. The art has a silkscreen effect that is not quite as pronounced in the cover scan. The red (not nearly as bright as it appears in the scan) is more of a burgundy red, and is given texture by it’s overlap with the blue of the background. And that blue is quite different – less green, lighter, more textured – than it appears as well.
Interesting for me to discover that another jacket I didn’t like very much (mentioned in “Roses are…”), The Silenced by James DeVita, also has art done by The Heads of State (jacket designed by Jennifer Heuer). I took a look at some of the other work by this group. I do like their work overall. I think it works on another YA book, Sparrow by Sherri L. Smith. Subdued, but somehow more likely to draw readers. Purely a guess, I have nothing concrete to hang it on. As to color, the background on the 3-D Silenced is a much deeper orange (better!), than it appears on my computer screen.
One other notation I want to make (from Double Dipping?) is about The Declaration by Gemma Malley. This cover looks a lot different, because the photo (see the original photo at Getty Images and also the one for Boy Proof ) and lines of handwritten text appear right on the book, not on the jacket. The jacket is made of a vellum paper that you can see through, though not as clearly as you can on the cover scan. The text is printed on the jacket and is the main thing you see when you look at the 3-D book. (And these are the kinds of books that make librarians crazy – because how do you put a protective mylar cover on a book if you can see through the jacket? – the librarians who read this will know what I’m talking about!).

One Response to “The Importance of Color & Paper”

  1. I regard to Silenced. I am not a fan of the cover at all. It also has not gone out in my library as much as other books that came in around the same time. I’ll admit that in person it is a bit more…let’s say dramatic, but overall it is a bit too retro in the wrong kind of way.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.