Black & White & Red = Horror

The archetypal color scheme for the horror genre is black and white – with red accents. The first two of the jackets here (all 2007), 666 : The Number of the Beast (Scholastic) and My Swordhand is Singing by Marcus Sedgewick (Wendy Lamb/Random House) are scary, but intriguing and very well done. 666 is a book of short stories. This composite of man and wolf is bound to attract an audience. The faint red accent around the title text is a nice touch. The black on My Swordhand is Singing is not just flat black, but a kind of tea-stained black. And those red spots could be blood? The red accent in the eye looks like fear… (Update: Here’s the British cover of My Swordhand is Singing)

666 My Swordhand

Epoch by Timothy Carter (Flux 2007) uses more red and is even more frightening, I think. If I was a reader of horror stories, this very scary looking demon would draw me in. It reminds me of a creature from a Hieronymus Bosch painting. Or a Gremlin.

Epoch

No whys here. I like all these jackets – and they are different enough to distinguish themselves.

666: Eighteen winners of the Bram Stoker award contribute tales of evil, darkness, and beasts.
My Swordhand is Singing: In the dangerous dark of winter in an Eastern European village during the early seventeenth century, Peter learns from a gypsy girl that the Shadow Queen is behind the recent murders and reanimations, and his father’s secret past may hold the key to stopping her. (Age 12+)
Epoch: As the end of the world approaches, fourteen-year-old Vincent breaks away from his parents’ religion and forms an odd alliance with a few other humans who have the ability to see the elves, pixies, and demons that are engaged in a battle to bring about a new epoch.

4 Responses to “Black & White & Red = Horror”

  1. I really liked the UK version of My Swordhand is Singing.

  2. I must say I like not only the title but the cover of My Swordhand is Singing quite a bit — both of them make you want to open the jacket and see what’s inside.

    I’m not so big on the Mark of the Beast cover. It’s just too . . . cliche.

    I think Epoch is effective because that novel’s supposed to be humorous, right? So the little demon looks a little funny. Well, probably not if you saw him in real life . . .

  3. The UK version IS amazing. The snow really makes it. Because that’s where I am at the moment, the other one confused me for a moment. It looks much more… violent somehow!

    I do like Epoch, though. It’s silly-scary, which pretty well describes the whole novel.

  4. I know it’s been quite a while since this post was made, but I’ve just started going through your blog and I think it’s wonderful.

    Anyway, I know of another cover that goes with this theme. So, here you go.

    http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51fdz6hP3pL._SL500_.jpg

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.